Here it is! The Baked Oatmeal recipe!

Every time I make this, I get rave reviews.  I have promised the recipe to many people and they are starting to get restless.  They want their oatmeal!

I owe thanks to my friend Lisa for passing the recipe my way.  It is a staple in my house!

Here is the basic recipe:

3 cups oatmeal (old-fashioned or quick cook)

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup margarine or butter

2 eggs

2 cups milk

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 375.   I usually melt the butter in the microwave first thing.  Mix all ingredients together and pour into 13 x 9 greased pan (either use cooking spray or grease it and flour it).  Bake for 25-35 minutes until it starts to look brown on top or around the edges.

Now, I never just follow that basic recipe.  I usually add fruit (fresh or frozen–IT DOES NOT MATTER), nuts, or both, and reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup, and I use white or brown sugar (or raw, or honey, or whatever!) depending on what else I am putting in it.   Here are some of my favorite variations:

White sugar, sliced strawberries, 1 tsp vanilla.

White sugar, blueberries, ground flax-seed (I don’t measure.  I just dump some in), 1 tsp vanilla, sliced almonds.

brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, raisins or canned pumpkin or both.  Or you can substitute 1/2 cup molasses for the sugar.

Get creative–I’ve never had it turn out badly!  Tell me when you try this and what you do to it to make it especially delicious.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grandma
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 09:49:19

    I just made my best batch so far- I left out the margarine, put in 1/2 cup ground flaxseed, a bunch of walnuts, one those little applesauce cups, a LOT of cinnamon (maybe a tablespoon) and 2 or 3 tsps of vanilla, plus a diced apple (an Empire). Cut down the salt some, and would probably cut down the sugar even more too, as this was plenty sweet enough with the apple and applesauce. This had very little oatmeal “slime.” That’s the reason I don’t enjoy normal oatmeal. I also bake this a long time. It really does seem like you can’t do anything to ruin it.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Grandma
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 16:31:16

    I tried mixing this up last night and baked it this morning! Put it in the fridge overnight, of course. It baked up great! The texture was very nice from sitting, I think. Jump out of bed early in the morning to put it in the oven, and start the coffee. Then go back and relax in bed while you wait for it, smells so good, like cookies baking!

    Maybe for holidays I’ll put in chocolate chips instead of an apple!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

