Let me tell you about my French Press.

A few months ago, after becoming frustrated with broken drip-style coffee makers, I purchased a French press.

I love it, and here is why I love it.

1) It will work when the power is out.

2) It brews good, strong coffee with no burnt taste.

3) It takes up very little precious counter space.

4) I could take it camping.

5) Did I mention it will work when the power is out?

Because the power WILL be out again next winter.

And I want to be prepared.  Being new to our house last winter and not having much time to prepare for outages left us… cold.  It wasn’t so pretty.

Well, it was pretty.

But I wasn’t so pretty without my coffee.

Our vintage stove works beautifully without electricity, so it is no problem to heat up water for the coffee.  Now all I need is to scour the local antique shops to find a hand-powered coffee grinder, and I won’t even have to grind my beans ahead of time.  I will be able to enjoy this:

After helping my kids enjoy this:

All right!  Okay!  I admit it — even though I am eagerly anticipating the ripening my first crop of home-grown tomatoes, part of me is already looking forward to winter.

Another admission: my coffee obsession may be genetic.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Audreya
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 12:48:12

    I’ve been thinking about getting one too. Every time I turn around, David is complaining the coffee pot is broken. As appliances go, they aren’t terribly expensive but good grief, I think they’d last longer than a few months. (We have an electric stove, so not much help when the power is out… but we’ve used our gas grill for a variety of things when the power goes out!)

    Like

    Reply

  2. Grandma
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 16:20:02

    Yes Wrangler Mama, your coffee addiction, um, obsession, is indeed genetic. And the French press makes wonderful coffee, (thanks for those delicious cups!) I’d kind of like one just for fun, or power failures!

    For an electric coffee maker, My Techni Vorm (German? Dutch?) is both amazing and unusual looking. It’s what you get when you complain to your engineer husband about Mr. Coffee. Very expensive, but very reliable. Gets hotter than any other, and is fast as a Bunn without keeping a tank of water hot all the time.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

