Why I deleted my Facebook Account

Batman made me.  (I can hear the nagging still.)

But really, he has some valid points.  Most of them are addressed in this article, and then further explained in this one.

I came to the conclusion that it would be “safe” to use Facebook if  I didn’t use my whole real name, real birthday, exact location, made sure not to post where I was going or about vacations until they were already over…  At that point, why bother?

I have this blog for things I want to be public, and I have a password-protected, invite-only site elsewhere for friends and family.  (But you can ask to be invited!  Please don’t be shy, my dear “real life” friends and family!   “Crunchy friends” welcome too, wink wink.)  Yes, I realize the private site could still get hacked, but it is not as likely.

It’s been a few days and I don’t actually miss my Facebook account.  I had let it grow out of control.  I had over 300 friends.  It was too easy to miss important things.  Statuses, messages, etc were just a big jumble.  Good riddance!  And you will all see me on my blog more often.  You have been warned!

If you want to jump ship with me, here’s how to delete your Facebook account.   Just be aware that sometimes it doesn’t actually work.  You will have to check a few weeks after you delete it by trying to sign in.  If  it asks you if you would like to reactivate your account, they never deleted your info and you may have to send them an email and beg them to delete your account and all the info contained within.  That is why I changed my name and deleted all my picture, applications, groups, pages, links, etc, before I deleted mine.  This way if they don’t delete my account correctly, at least I got rid of the info.  (I hope.)

Leave a Reply

