I am a homebody.

It seems like many people I know have a burning desire to see the world and would be happy on a perpetual vacation.  It’s not that I don’t have a sense of adventure.  My idea of a good adventure is just a little different.  I haven’t even explored all the local hiking trails–why do I need to backpack through the alps?  Don’t get me wrong.  I wouldn’t turn down a good vacation opportunity.  I know I’d have a blast visiting other countries.  It’s just not what is burning in my heart when I think of what I really want to do.  There’s nothing more that I  want than to sink my roots deep into the land.  My husband and I share the dream of moving back to Montana and living off the grid.  The idea of having my own chickens, horses, maybe a cow, a greenhouse to grow my own veggies…  THAT is excitement to me.

When we did live in Montana I felt like I was on vacation all the time.  (Except when I was at work.  Even then, once in awhile, even that felt like vacation.)  I want to go back there and explore every river, lake, valley, and mountain top in the area.   I want to build a homestead and hunker down by the fireplace on the long winter nights under quilts that I made, eating bread that I baked from scratch.  I want to have herds of elk and packs of wolves in my yard again.  (Though not at the same time.  That could be messy.)

Does that sounds completely unrealistic to you?  What if I told you I already bake bread and make quilts?  I want to grow into homesteading, one step at a time.   That to me sounds like the ultimate adventure.

Here are a few favorite pics I have on hand from the glory days in Montana.

From our bedroom window:

In our front yard:

My dog on a walk by our house:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 21:32:32

    Have you read Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver? It’s all about the year she and her family took doing an experiment in local food and growing their own. It’s a great story because of the content and also the fact that she’s a gifted writer. Actually, though, I’ve never read any of her fiction, but after this, I am planning to. I think you’d love this book!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Wrangler Mama
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 20:46:17

    Yes I love that book! That was one I jumped on as soon as it came out. You should read her novels–my favorites are the Bean Tree trilogy (I think that’s what they are called….) I also really like Prodigal Summer. I think you’d really like her books.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

