Things I Miss About Wisconsin

For those of you who don’t know, I spent several summers and a calendar year working at my summer camp there in the Northwoods, back in my college years.  I also lived in Green Bay for a couple years after Batman and I got married.

The other day I had this insane urge to go shopping at FleetFarm — sort of like a WalMart combined with a feed/farm store, but with fewer (okay, almost no) beauty products.  They always had the best deals on candy and snacks, boots, warm stuff (long underwear, socks, hats, scarves, etc), and anything outdoor related.  During the brief period of time where I actually had my own horse, I loved being able to run into FleetFarm on the way to the barn to pick up a brush, horse treats, or whatever else I needed for him.  I actually worked at FleetFarm for a short time as well, but I prefer not to think about that lest it spoil my fond memories of the place.  A friend’s grandpa used to say, “If they don’t have it at FleetFarm or the grocery store, ya don’t really need it.”

Without further ado, here’s a fun list of things I miss about Wisconsin:

1. FleetFarm

2. The accent (Dontcha know?)

3. The Northwoods (yes I live in woods now, but it is NOT the same.)

4. Cheese curds

5. Leinenkugel’s beer

6. Fish Fry Fridays (I confess–I never partook because I was a strict vegetarian when I lived there!  But now I am not and I would love to join in!)

7. Old barns/farms

8. Lakes that freeze solid in the wintertime

9.  Cross-country skiing

10. The long, cold, snow-filled winters.  (Yes, you read that right.)

11. The Cup of Joy coffee-house in Green Bay

12.  All my Wisconsin friends!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vesseleternal
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 22:13:01

    KofC does Friday fish fries frequently here even not during Lent. Although probably not when it’s six degrees outside, lol.

    Like

    Reply

  2. ourlifeouthere2014
    May 11, 2015 @ 20:55:50

    I haven’t gotten to spend much time in Wisconsin, but we drove through on a recent RV road trip and it is absolutely beautiful! I LOVED the old farms and barns!

    I’m enjoying reading your posts!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

