How this Wrangler Mama does Pregnancy

Yes, friends, it’s that time again — time for me to have another baby!  I am 14 weeks today.

No, I have not been to “the doctor” yet.  Hopefully, I will not need to see a doctor for this pregnancy.  I will be seeing my midwife who delivered my second baby.

Yeah, that’s the one — my little Lion Cub a few days old.

When I tell people I go to a midwife for prenatal care and to have my baby, they often have a lot of questions.  I am going to use my blog to answer some of those questions.  Now, there are plenty of other blogs and websites out there that address in detail the reasons why standard maternity care in the US is not so fabulous right now.  One of my favorites is the Birth Sense blog.  I don’t need to create another website like that.  What I intend to do is share my pregnancy and birth journey with you so you can see how things can be different (yet still safe!) than the experience most pregnant women have in the US.

One of the biggest reasons I prefer the midwifery model of care is that it is not based on fear.  While I had a good OB with my first baby, when it came down to it, there were tests, more tests, and many others I declined.  With this type of care, there was this cloud of “just in case” hanging over  me.  I don’t like that.  Yes, birth can be dangerous.  Yes, babies can be born with all sorts of problems.  I will talk more about that later.  The babies I have now want to go to bed.  So to bed it is, and hopefully tomorrow I will start on my “you go to a midwife?” FAQs.  Feel free to ask some of your own questions too!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brandis
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 21:02:05

    Congrats! Now I’m really starting to feel like I’m behind:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

