The Best Chocolate Chip Cherry Cake EVER

It just might be the best cake ever.

I found this recipe on pinterest and I modified it.  It is a vegan recipe, and I’m not vegan.  I had eggs in the fridge, and no flax, so I used real eggs instead of a flax “egg.”  I also used all white whole wheat flour because that’s what I had. And I used frozen pitted cherries because I didn’t have fresh ones.  And I did not bother to cut them in half. See rule 497 for baking: don’t be afraid of recipes if you don’t have all the ingredients on the list.

So here’s the recipe with WranglerMama’s flair!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce (or 2 4 oz jars of random fruit baby food if that’s what you have….)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup frozen pitted cherries (no, you do not have to defrost them!)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. In a biggish bowl, beat the egg, brown sugar, vanilla, and apple sauce.
  2. Don’t bother using a separate bowl.  Add the baking powder, salt, and flour to the mixture and mix it all together.
  3. Stir in cherries and chocolate chips.
  4. Spread in a greased 8 or 9 inch pan and bake at 325 for
  5. Add cherries and chocolate chips to your mixing bowl, and stir until combined.
  6. Spread evenly in a greased 8 inch square baking pan.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes at 325 degrees or until it starts to get golden brown.  Cool about 10 minutes before slicing.
  8. Watch how quickly it disappears.
  9. Make another one a day or two later and this time double the recipe. (Who, me???)
Leave a Reply

