My Menu Board

If I only made half the things I pinned on Pinterest… Well, I’d have a lot more things like this:

Image

It’s my take on the menu boards I’ve seen.  I took an old bulletin board I got at a thrift store for $1 and decopaged it with scrapbook paper.  I painted the clothespins and hot glued them to the board.  The little pockets are boxes from medicine and yogurt starter–any lightweight box that size would do.  Decopage and hot glue, and there you have the little card holders.  One holds blank notecards, and the other is for ones that have dinner items written on them.  Rather than try to make fancy, decorated menu cards, I think the plain notecards fit my style.  I can make new ones easily and even erase.  My menu board was supposed to give me freedom by not having to decide what to make for dinner at the last minute, not constrain me by which recipes I have made into fancy cards.  I’ve been using it for a week and it really works for me.  The organic zucchini in the fridge will not spoil because I forgot it was there–it’s scheduled for dinner tomorrow.  So far, I love this system!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. alisapage484
    Jul 26, 2012 @ 16:43:22

    I love, love, love this! I also saw menu boards on pinterest, pinned them, but knew I’d never go through with them. They were so perfect–laminated or magnetized, etc. That is not how I plan meals. When I plan meals. I like to try new recipes and not be limited to what looks pretty. So. . . I made my own. Today. Same idea, different materials. I’ll post it on my blog in the next few days. Thank you for inspiration!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

