Making Almond Milk and Almond Meal Off-Grid

1108

Today I’m going to take a quick break from my “Unplugging” series to show you one of my little projects I managed to accomplish in one of our first couple weeks here.  First, I made almond milk according to my usual recipe:

Soak 1 cup raw almonds over night.

Blend with 4 cups water in Blendtec (this had to be done while we had the generator running–I did not run the generator just to blend my almond milk.  So I don’t think I get off-gridding points for this.)

Drain the “milk” through a cloth and save the leftover meal to dry.

Add a pinch of salt and vanilla powder, mix, and refrigerate.  Or, in my case, put the pitcher in the 37-degree basement since our fridge is not up and running.

Now, back in my “old life,” I would have put a sheet of parchment paper on a cookie sheet, spread the wet almond meal on it, and stuck it in the oven on low.  But our oven was not hooked up yet.

I briefly considered just throwing out the almond meal, but that would never do!  I didn’t know where the parchment was, but I did have a baking pan.

1109

So I left it on the top of the wood stove to dry.  It took quite awhile, but it was easy.  Maybe I don’t get homesteading credit for the almond MILK, but how much more homesteady can you get than cooking on a wood stove?  I folded the cloth over the meal to keep out dust, bugs, flying dog hair, etc.  I opened it up every now and then to stir the meal and break up clumps.  When it was dry, I put it in a mason jar to store.  It made a tasty addition to our pancakes a few days later.  I just substituted the almond meal for a portion of the flour, and it gave it a nice, nutty flavor.

In case you were wondering about that big pot there on the stove, that was to heat up water for baths and washing dishes.  I don’t remember if we had the plumbing working yet at this point, but if we did, there was no hot water yet.  I will tell you the entire saga of our plumbing another day–maybe I will wait until it’s more or less done… and maybe not.  I’ll surprise you.

Until next time…

—Wrangler Mama

Leave a Reply

